Bitterroot Valley Montana Real Estate For Sale

Lambros Real Estate ERA Hamilton Montana – your Bitterroot Valley and Hamilton Montana Real Estate specialist in residential homes, condo’s, commercial, multi-family, ranch and land and recreational properties for sale.

About Hamilton

Welcome to the beautiful Bitterroot Valley! A place where the stunning peaks of the Bitterroot and Sapphire Mountains meet the gorgeous, productive, and tree filled Bitterroot Valley. Here Lewis and Clark and Historic Nez Perce trails meet modern, thriving communities. Throughout our valley you will find a multitude of scenic hiking trails and public fishing sites. Here you can encounter spectacular beauty and world-class recreation that any true outdoor enthusiast will love to experience. The Bitterroot Valley is 96 miles long and at its widest spot 25 miles across, encompassing 2,394 square miles. 74% of the land is owned by the public and 24% is privately owned. The breathtaking scenery is of course, the most impressive attraction of the valley.

The Bitterroot Valley has a variety of communities. Each town has a spirit and namesake that has some historical significance to its western style.

Hamilton – The history of Hamilton began when Marcus Daly, a finance figure of the 1880’s made his way into the Bitterroot Valley seeking other interests than mining. In 1887 Daly bought up small sawmills west of the present site and Hamilton became an established lumber making industry almost overnight. Daly brought in James Hamilton and Robert O’Hara to plan and develop his dream town with a bank, stores, a school, and four churches. Incorporated in 1894 Mr. O’Hara became the first mayor and the town was named after James Hamilton.

Stevensville – Father DeSmet founded St. Mary’s Mission and John Owen built the Fort Owen Trading Post. Stevensville, accordingly, was started by John R. Winslet and J.K. Houk. The two men were traders, who needed a place to set up a their business. On May 12, 1864 the settlers there named their little community Stevensville after Isaac Ingells Stevens, the first governor of the Washington territory.

Corvallis – Originally Corvallis was called Chaffinville and was a few miles from its present site. Elijah & Margaret Chaffin and their children settled in the Corvallis area in 1966. To this day Corvallis is still unincorporated. By 1883 Corvallis contained 30 families, several stores, the Christian church and school district No. 1 with 80 children.

Darby – Darby gained its name from its postmaster James Darby who took it upon himself to name the town. Darby has had several ups and downs in its economic history. First it was mining and fur trading, then the “apple” boom, and finally a steady growth of agriculture, cattle ranching, and the timber industry.

Victor – In the mid 1860’s A. Stern Blake & his Shoshone wife came to the valley and were among the original founders of Victor. At that time Victor was part of Missoula County, originally platted as Garfield, after President James Garfield, it was later renamed after Chief Victor of the Salish Indian tribe.

Sula – The Sula (Ross Hole) area is best known for being the place where Lewis and Clark met the Salish Indians. Named for the first white child (Ursula) born in the Ross Hole country. Charles Russell, a famous Montana painter, has one of his paintings hanging in the Montana State Capitol capturing the view from James Wetzsteon’s pioneer home in Sula.

The Bitterroot Valley is truly a place like no other. We have 4 distinct seasons, each bringing all the beauty that Montana has to offer. Let our Lambros real estate professionals guide you in making it a home for you and your family.

Contact Us

Hamilton Office : Bitterroot Valley
514 N. First Street | Hamilton, MT 59840
406.363.6668 | 888.734.7653
Fax: 406.363.3252

Like us on Facebook

Videos of the Hamilton / Bitterroot Valley